US-Ireland Alliance

Skip to Content
Site Navigation
About the Alliance
Arts & Culture
Arts & Culture
Oscar Wilde event sponsors
Cultur Club

Mitchell Scholar Nick Johnson giving back to Ireland

Samuel Beckett Summer School

Trinity College Dublin is hosting the first annual Samuel Beckett Summer School from 10 to 16 July, a week-long celebration of Beckett's life and work in the location where he began his intellectual and creative life. A timely addition to the profile of Dublin as UNESCO City of Literature, the summer school is designed for students, scholars, and literary enthusiasts from around the world, with seminars, lectures, and workshops complemented by performances, films, and field trips. The deadline for registration has been extended to 27 June, with full details on schedule, fees, and accommodation available at

Dr. Nicholas Johnson, a 2004-05 Mitchell Scholar who attended Trinity to write his PhD on Samuel Beckett, is deputy director of the Summer School and one of the founding members of the organizing committee. As part of the panel of international contributors, he will be presenting both a scholarly lecture and his practical performance work Abstract Machines: The Televisual Beckett.  Nick has recently been appointed to a five-year post as Lecturer in Drama at Trinity College, with a specialty in practice-based research.

These types of events bring enormous value to the state in terms of "academic tourism" and continuing attention to the incredibly rich cultural heritage the island.   It’s hard to believe that this is the first Beckett Summer School -- Joyce and Yeats and Shaw already have them. 

Among the highlights of the Summer School is the performance of The End by Gare St. Lazare Players Ireland, while Beckett's strong connections with France are acknowledged in an event hosted by the Alliance Francaise. Additionally, the College Library is preparing a special exhibit of their substantial collection of Beckett manuscripts especially for the School.  In addition to Nick, scholars and artists who are contributing to this year's programme include Linda Ben-Zvi, Ian Buchanan, Michael Colgan, Garin Dowd, Gerry Dukes, S. E. Gontarski, Barry McGovern, Anna McMullan, Mark Nixon, Sarahjane Scaife, Dirk Van Hulle, and Shane Weller. The school is co-directed by Steve Wilmer and Sam Slote, and is an initiative of the School of English and the School of Drama, Film, and Music. The school gratefully acknowledges the support of the Trinity Long Room Hub, the Trinity Trust, the Provost's Fund for the Visual and Performing Arts, and UNESCO City of Literature.